neurodeervergent:

neurodeervergent:

How do you guys feel about someone wearing a mask because they are bothered a lot by cigarette smoke? Lately my tolerance for it is basically zero and while I don’t have any allergies or asthma, it’s very bad for my sensory processing and the worst thing, there are always sooo many people smoking on campus. 

So I have been thinking about getting a mask, like a face mask that filters the air a bit. Any thoughts on that? Should I just “suck it up” or get used to it or do you consider it an appropriate thing to help/accommodate my sensory issues? 

Thanks for all the replies and the advice!

I ended up ordering a plain black fabric mask just to try it out.

And then I remembered that recently my country introduced a law that says you might have to pay a fine when you are caught in public covering your face (unless it’s for religious, traditional, health or work reasons, or if it’s insanely cold)

So now I’m like “okay which of my doctors can I ask to write me an official paper about having sensory issues in case I get talked to by a police officer”

Anyway.

That law is bullshit. (And mainly because our government hates Muslims.) ugh.